Fountain Nabs 9 Ovation Nominations, including “Best Season” for Overall Excellence

The Fountain Theatre received 9 Ovation Award nominations last night, including the prestigious nod for overall Best Season.  Three Fountain productions comprised the 2010-11 Ovation season: The Train Driver, A House Not Meant to Stand, and Bakersfield Mist.

The Fountain has been nominated for Best Season every year since the newly created category was launched three years ago. The Fountain won the award last year. The Fountain has the distinction of being honored with more Ovation nominations and awards than any other intimate theatre in the history of the Ovation Awards.

Sandy Martin in "A House Not Meant to Stand"

This Ovation season, Sandy Martin has been nominated Best Leading Actress in a Play for her performance as Bella McCorkle in A House Not Meant to Stand.

Our fabulous Fountain designers were acknowledged for their dazzling skill and artistry.

Set designer Jeff McLaughlin pulled an unprecedented hat-trick by being nominated for Best Set Design for all three Fountain productions: The Train Driver, Bakersfield  Mist, and A House Not Meant to Stand.

Fountain sound designers Peter Bayne (A House Not Meant to Stand) and David Marling (The Train Driver) both received Best Sound Design nominations.

Ken Booth was nominated for Best Lighting Design for both The Train Driver and A House Not Meant to Stand.

Set Designer Jeff McLaughlin

Click here for the full list of 2011 Ovation nominees.

The 2010/2011 Ovation Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday, November 14, 2011, 7:30 pm, at The Orpheum Theatre in Downtown LA.

6 responses to “Fountain Nabs 9 Ovation Nominations, including “Best Season” for Overall Excellence

  1. Just another day at The Fountain.

  2. It’s been a great year!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS To The Fountain Theatre!!! Well Deserved!!

  4. Fantastic news. I’m so honored to work with such a talented bunch of people. Bravo to all!

Leave a Reply